BishopsPriestsBrothersSistersPermanent DeaconsNecrology

Fourth and Current Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux

Most Rev. Shelton J. Fabre (October 30, 2013 to present)

 First Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux
 Most Rev. Warren L. Boudreaux (1977 to 1992)
 A native of Berwick, LA, Bishop Warren L. Boudreaux was born Jan. 25, 1918. He studied at St. Joseph's Seminary, St. Benedict, LA.; Notre Dame Seminary, New Orleans; Grand Seminaire de St. Sulpice, Paris; Catholic University of America, where he obtained in 1946 his Doctorate in Canon Law; and in 1962 was granted a Doctor of Divinity degree by Pope John XXIII. Bishop Boudreaux was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Lafayette in 1942. He was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Lafayette in 1962 and Bishop of Beaumont, Texas, in 1971. He served as Ordinary of Beaumont until 1977, when he was appointed First Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux. He died October 6, 1997.
Second Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux
 Most Rev. Michael Jarrell (1993 to Nov. 8, 2002)
A native of Opelousas, LA, Bishop Michael Jarrell was born May 15, 1940. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy (1962) and a Master of Arts in Philosophy (1963) both from Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C. He has been granted a Doctor of Divinity degree by Pope John Paul II. Bishop Jarrell was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Lafayette in 1967. He was appointed Second Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux on Dec. 29, 1992. His ordination to the episcopacy and installation took place March 4, 1993.
Third Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux
Most Rev. Sam Jacobs (2003 to October 2013)
Born in Greenwood, MS, on March 4, 1938, Bishop Sam G. Jacobs was reared in Lake Charles, LA. He studied at Immaculata Seminary in Lafayette from 1951-57 and Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C., from 1957-1964. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Lafayette by Auxiliary Bishop Warren L. Boudreaux in 1964. Bishop Jacobs served as pastor, chaplain and associate pastor of several parishes in the Diocese of Lafayette and the Diocese of Lake Charles. He has served as chairman of the National Service Committee for the Charismatic Renewal and Diocesan Director of Vocations and Seminarians for the Diocese of Lake Charles. Bishop Jacobs was appointed the 10th Bishop of Alexandria in 1989 and was ordained by Archbishop Francis B. Schulte and co-consecrators Bishop Warren L. Boudreaux and Bishop Jude Speyrer. Bishop Jacobs was installed as the third Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux on Oct. 10, 2003.